top of page
Search
  • lefayceramicstudio

Tile Class

Updated: Apr 8, 2019

Surfaces, exploration in design, and technique

Tile class was an adventure in exploration. I absolutely loved that we had time to think. Just think and sit and focus.

Sorry for the blurry image. I was in a bit of a rush to catch the bus while taking it.


I'm really loving the chance to explore colour and slips that we have in this class. The slip transferring assignment, which I will attach photos of, was a blast. Above is one transfer that had slip painted onto a print, then flipped onto the tile, which already had slip on it! This one I attached immediately, so the transferred slip is very smooth and soft.




This one is one of my favourites. The slip was painted on with a Japanese style brush for sumi-e. I painted a stroke of slip for each petal and stem. On the slab itself is black slip, with brushstrokes of a thin zirconium blue slip, layered over each other for a wispy effect. I love how the dryness of the slip caused breaks and hard lines. The texture is lovely.


Both of these pieces were photographed in the greenware stage, so they don't have the gloss from the final firing, or the 'true' colours that they will express post glaze firing. I'm hoping that the vapourwave aesthetic that I was aiming for will work when they are finally fired.



Look at that yummy texture! Look at it!


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Onyx

bottom of page